top of page


Through participation in Competitive Events, FCCLA members acquire industry insights and employable skills required to thrive in the 21st Century. Members can select from over 50 Competitive Events that employ skills and knowledge learned through Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) education. Competing on regional/district, state, and national levels in Competitive Events enables members to explore Career Pathways and address significant personal, work, and societal issues.

Competitive Events align with FCCLA's mission to concentrate on multiple roles, including family member, wage earner, and community leader. Each event is curated to help members develop specific lifelong skills in character development, creative and critical thinking, interpersonal communication, practical knowledge, and career preparation.


The foundation of these events is the belief that anyone can succeed, and participation in FCCLA's Competitive Events will equip students for life after high school.

Competitive Event Levels:

  • Level 1 - Members through grade 8

  • Level 2 - Members in grades 9 and 10

  • Level 3 - Members in grades 11 and 12

  • Level 4 - Postsecondary members

Entry into a particular level is determined by the participant’s grade in school during the school year preceding the National Leadership Conference and in some cases, enrollment in a specific course or program.

Individual Events

Individual events evaluate one member’s performance. Team events evaluate several participants’ or a chapter’s performance as one entry.

Team Events

Team events may have one, two, or three participants from the same chapter, with the exception of Parliamentary Procedure, which may have four to eight participants from the same chapter.

  • A team composed of members of mixed grade levels (through grade 12) must enter at the level of the highest participant member’s grade level.

  • Team events with only Level 2 (grades 9-10) or Level 3 (grades 11-12) may not include members through grade 8.

  • Team events with only Level 3 (grades 11-12) may not include members through grade 10.  

  • Level 4 (Postsecondary) teams may not include members through grade 12.  

bottom of page